The Beginner’s Guide to Spiritual Gifts

I haven’t had the the opportunity to blog in quite some time. Things have been rather busy lately.

Today I want to being a series of blog posts on the work of the Holy Spirit. My last blog post on this subject, My Journey into the Gifts of the Holy Spirit received lots of views and many people commented to me privately that they appreciated it. So as I dig deeper into the subject I thought it would be good to share with everyone what I was thinking and reading. Over the next few weeks I am going to blog through Sam Storms book – The Beginners Guide to Spiritual Gifts.  This book discusses all sorts about the work of the Holy Spirit, but primarily aims to look biblically at the most controversial gifts. The book covers; healing, tongues and interpretation, prophecy, words of knowledge/wisdom, distinguishing of spirits and much much more.

My aim for this series of blogs is that as I work through the book, I’ll blog on each chapter, reviewing what is said and adding my thoughts, questions and concerns, hopefully coming to a fuller understanding about what I think about the above listed gifts. I hope that this series is of interest to you, that you will engage in the discussion and that when we have finished working through this series you too would be blessed.

So, a few words about Sam Storms. Sam describes himself as:

“I am an Amillennial, Calvinistic, charismatic, credo-baptistic, complementarian, Christian Hedonist who loves his wife of 40 plus years, his two daughters, his four grandchildren, books, baseball, movies, and all things Oklahoma University.

I am incredibly blessed to serve as Lead Pastor for Preaching and Vision at Bridgeway Church, Oklahoma City, OK and as President of Enjoying God Ministries.”

sam-stormsI really appreciate Sam Storms. On most things we seem to be on the same page. I have recently finished reading One Thing which is stocked by 10 of Those, so you know its got to be kosher. One Thing is basically an easier to understand version of John Pipers – Desiring God.  I have benefited a lot by listening to Storms’ sermons and reading his blog.

However I also have my concerns. At one point Sam was involved with the Kansas City Prophets, a quick Google will highlight the many abuses of this group. For some time Storms was the assistant pastor of a church lead by Mike Bickle who is now the leader of IHOP in KC.  So I guess there is going to be things that I will disagree with… However I hope that there will be lots of useful stuff for us to chew on.

To finish this blog I have attached a video by Desiring God where Storms is talking about Spiritual Gifts.

3 responses to “The Beginner’s Guide to Spiritual Gifts

  • Jim coyle

    Hi mate,

    I have recently got the kindle book of this so will read it through with you, so what’s the timescales? A chapter a week?

    Cheers, jim

  • Steve Karma

    I am looking fwd to this bro, it is something that I am thinking through at the moment, can there be a position which draws on holiness, spiritual disciplines like fasting and prayer, spontaneity and the spiritual power of the Charismatic/Pentecostal tradition AND reformed, systematic and expositional Christianity???

  • jimscoyle

    I was planning on reading this too, what’s the timescale? Chapter a week so we can be ready to interact with your posts?God bless, Jim .

Leave a Reply

