What Bible Translation should I use?

Last Sunday evening at Christianity Explored, I was asked the question, ‘I want to buy a Bible, which translation should I get?’

What would you say?

Of course there is merits in every translation. For a serious look at translations it may be worth buying this book.

For a few years I was as bad as the KJV only guys, only my bible of choice was the ESV. But the church I am involved with use the NIV so for most of the studies and sermons I do I use the NIV.

Basically, the best advice possible is get a translation that you can read, and read it!

For serious study I use the ESV.

For sermons and talks I use the NIV.

Currently I am reading the Bible from start to finish using the Amplified Bible.

How passionate are we for the Word of God?

3 responses to “What Bible Translation should I use?

Leave a Reply

